Should we downsize?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
CPA1981

Should we downsize?

Post by CPA1981 » Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:30 pm

Long time lurker (like, years) first time posting. I need some sage advice on the emotional and financial aspects of downsizing our home. Background:
We are a family of 3. DH is 43, I’m 36 and we have a 2 year old. We live in a large-ish city somewhere in middle America. I’m a CPA and DH specializes in real estate and we both work for large corporations and are happy in our careers. Gross income is:
Me: $108,000 base with $15-20k bonus.
DH: $112,000 base with $15-20k bonus.
Here is where we need advice. 4 years ago we built our house. It is very nice. It is a beautiful walk out ranch on a large lot at the end of a cul-de-sac that backs to a park and is a 7 min commute to work (and in a great school district). In short, it is pretty much perfect. We purchased the home for $415,000. When we bought the home, the basement was unfinished and we spent the last couple years slowing finishing it - we put about $50,000 in to it, paying cash along the way. More info on the house:
Upper level: 2,000 sq ft finished, 3 bedrooms, 2 bath.
Lower level: 1,800 sq ft finished, 2 bedrooms, 1 bath.
We owe $360,000 on the mortgage and the monthly payment is $3,000 (that includes $1,000/month for real estate taxes and house insurance so about $2,000/month mortgage/interest). We have a 20 year fixed mortgage at 3% and we are 14 months in.