Becoming a Fee-Only Financial Advisor Help

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Mr400meterdash

Becoming a Fee-Only Financial Advisor Help

Post by Mr400meterdash » Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:20 pm

So I just graduated from University in the Spring of 2017. I graduated with a degree in Kinesiology in the hopes of becoming a Physical Therapist. I took a few free financial classes that a person from the town taught and he taught everything everyone teaches on this web site. He got me hooked on finances and I want to now become a fee-only advisor so that people can come to me for advice instead of a company that will charge them hidden fees and loads. My goal is mainly to charge hourly in the hopes that I can teach people what they need to do so that they can do it on their own and if they want to come back once a year or so to refine everything, that would be an option. If people would want my help all year round, I would have to set up something there so that if I am managing their accounts that I get paid still but at a low cost. Really all I want to do is help people understand and learn about their finances for a low fee.

If there are any of you out there who have been fee-only financial advisors or have any knowledge of how to become one, any advice or websites would be very helpful as I do not know where to start!

Edit: If I wanted to become an CFP, would I be able to just start taking courses or would I have to take my series 65 and series 7 tests beforehand?
And if people wanted me to handle their assets under my management, I would have to charge a fee for that because I would have to do their re-balancing and all that but how do you do that while still being a fee only? Or could I charge something like .4 of their portfolio to do all of that for them so that I would still be cheap but not fee only anymore.