Why should I donate to my alma mater?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
knightrider

Why should I donate to my alma mater?

Post by knightrider » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:04 pm

I graduated 20+ years ago and every year give a token $50-100. I do it mainly to add to their "participation numbers". I have no dreams/plans for my children to attend this school. I also do not keep in touch with any of my classmates, apart from a once every few years meetup...

I was on a huge aid package when I attended. So I sort of feel obligated to donate something... But the whole thing rubs me in a weird way. Why don't my high schools or kindergartens ask me for money? Weren't they just as important to my development?

MoonOrb

Re: Why should I donate to my alma matter?

Post by MoonOrb » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:09 pm

If you feel you get better bang for your buck out of making charitable donations to other causes, you should do that instead. There's no rule that says you must give to your alma mater. This is true even if you attended on scholarship. My personal opinion is that the way you repay a scholarship is by going out there in the world and adding value and contributing, not by literally sending checks back to the school.

MotoTrojan

Post by MotoTrojan » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:11 pm

knightrider wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:04 pm
I graduated 20+ years ago and every year give a token $50-100. I do it mainly to add to their "participation numbers". I have no dreams/plans for my children to attend this school. I also do not keep in touch with any of my classmates, apart from a once every few years meetup...

I was on a huge aid package when I attended. So I sort of feel obligated to donate something... But the whole thing rubs me in a weird way. Why don't my high schools or kindergartens ask me for money? Weren't they just as important to my development?