Analysis Paralysis: Can you get to the bottom of things?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
TD2626

Analysis Paralysis: Can you get to the bottom of things?

Post by TD2626 » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:25 pm

Although I have no formal background in this area, I have been reading the forum a lot trying to get to the bottom of investing in hopes of better managing my own investments and better being able to help family members when they have questions.

I told myself about 6 months ago I’d get to the bottom of investing – and took a deep, deep dive, reading an enormous number of historical threads on this site, reading Vanguard white papers, academic papers, the wiki, books, etc. I’ve been primarily focused on wrapping my head around theory and finding the ideal, perfect portfolio.

Unfortunately, it’s just not working. The more I learn, the more I realize how little I know compared to all there is to learn. I’ve gained some familiarity with many topics, and I had hoped that by now I would be able to find perfection. However, I am not able to find anything that I can prove beyond a reasonable doubt would improve upon a simple portfolio like the Three Fund portfolio (or a similar portfolio involving things like Lifestrategy or Target date options, or Total World + Total bond two fund portfolios, etc).

The issue is that there are plenty of things that I could reasonably and defensibly add to a three fund portfolio. Some of them I could even argue meet a “preponderance of evidence” standard for inclusion. But if I try to tilt towards everything I’d end up with an unmanageable mess. And none of this would meet my high standards for perfection and quantitative rigor when coming up with allocations.

I see several options. Each has pros and cons. They are below: