Costco Eyeglasses - No satisfaction guarantee. Any chance of resolution?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
kjvmartin

Costco Eyeglasses - No satisfaction guarantee. Any chance of resolution?

Post by kjvmartin » Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:52 pm

I've had my new glasses since Monday.

I've been wearing glasses since I was about 8 years old and I'm in my mid 30s now. Blind as a bat without my Rx. This year, my Rx changed a smidge and my frames were two years old, so I decided to use up my insurance benefits (just about to change jobs). I've got a fairly sizable face, am 6'4, and tend to be active when it comes time for various training events - work in law enforcement. Long distance vision is paramount for firearms qualification.

Since I can remember, I've purchased my Rx at Lenscrafters. The cost is usually about $300-$500 for high index anti-reflective lenses in frames. On the recommendation of a relative, I tried Costco Optical this year for the first time. I found a frame called "Police" and the store sample fit like a glove with a look that suits my face. It's important that I get a snug fit. Can't be pushing my frames up my nose sweating during firearms training. I explained my needs to the salesperson and they sent my order out. I asked if they were high index, the best and thinnest possible lenses, and she was clear that they were. $55 total after insurance. The glasses arrived at Costco Monday and I picked them up right away.