Losing all of your savings.

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
volimsmes

Losing all of your savings.

Post by volimsmes » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:31 am

i've lost all of my savings because of stupid investments. How should I mentaly deal with situaction like this?

Pajamas

Re: Losing all of your savings.

Post by Pajamas » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:34 am

Learn from your bad experience to avoid repeating it. Look at it as an important, expensive lesson.

tc101

Post by tc101 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:38 am

Put one foot in front of the other and do the next right thing.
Life is a wonderful miraculous gift. Enjoy it. Love people.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

retiringwhen

Post by retiringwhen » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:41 am

Do a post-mortem on why you made the investments, be realistic and brutally honest with yourself. If it is in your power (and will-power) to change your ways, then make the changes and get serious about understanding a BH-like strategy and long-term plan.

If you cannot or fear you cannot deal with the issues that caused the investment mistakes, then look for help in the form of a financial advisor or other appropriate mentor for accountability.

In other words, there is grieving to be done, but try to learn as much as possible to avoid the same mistakes in the future so you can look back and say you profited from the lessons you received from the error of your previous actions.

chuppi

Post by chuppi » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:45 am

Most people make mistakes. Some more expensive than the others. Some early on than the others. Important step is to recognize and learn from the mistakes.
Start now with a plan and stick to it. Be realistic in your expectation and not look for miracles. Cut costs as much as possible and invest the rest going forward.

pochax

Post by pochax » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:57 am