Is it worth applying for Credit Limit Increase?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
ascension

Is it worth applying for Credit Limit Increase?

Post by ascension »

Hi Guys,

I just checked credit score and it's at 776 at the moment.

My credit limit for my credit card which I got 5 years ago is $13000

Now I graduated, I made $300k last year (worked half year)

And this year, I should be making around $550k.

I don't want them to inquire credit score and deny it. What would be a safe number to increase my credit card limit to?

Btw, I use Chase Sapphire Preferred
lakpr

Re: Is it worth applying for Credit Limit Increase?

Post by lakpr »

I make barely 150K and my credit limit on Chase Sapphire Reserve is 30K. But then I have 28 year history with over 800 credit score. No intention of bragging, just providing you a datapoint. Of course, I ran more than 40K expenses through that card in the past year. Used it for EVERYTHING.

Edited to add: seems to me that 20% annual income is what they would approve you for, based on anecdotal data points from my friends.
Pajamas

Post by Pajamas »

Do you NEED a credit limit increase? In the past, Chase has simply raised my limit and then notified me.
whodidntante

Post by whodidntante »

There is no way to know unless you try. If this is your only credit I would ask for 20k. If you have a more extensive history that includes car loans and other positive credit history, I would ask for 25k. You might want to apply for a couple more cards if you would need more revolving credit. It's good to keep your utilization below 30% if you plan to apply for new credit soon.