Mortgage Refi, How To, Should I?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
armeliusc

Mortgage Refi, How To, Should I?

Post by armeliusc » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:51 am

Hello,
I am considering refinancing my current 30-year mortgage at 4.375% which has only been ~6 months old. I am browsing bankrate.com and it seems that I can get a better rate nowadays. Since I've never done this before, I am wondering about a few things:

- How does one shop for a refi? Should I just start calling the lender there? Does it matter who the lender is / what their reputation? I've never heard any of those companies before and I don't even know how to assess them. For example, Sebonic Financial shows up at the top for most of the term I am looking at, are they OK?
- Should I do refi in my situation? What are some gotchas I should be aware of?

Thanks
AC

JBTX

Re: Mortgage Refi, How To, Should I?

Post by JBTX » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:25 am

I’ve done several Refis. Whether it makes sense depends on the new rate and the applicable fees.

In my case after a couple of difficult refis with chase (one completed in about 3 months the other abandoned after about 2 months ) I ended up going with quicken loans. Both of my refis have been in about 3 weeks beginning to end. QL is probably not the lowest rate out there but some of these outfits may be throwing out teaser rates you aren’t likely to get.