Roth IRA conversion my only "income" and when/how to pay taxes

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
capsaicinguy

Roth IRA conversion my only "income" and when/how to pay taxes

Post by capsaicinguy » Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:58 pm

Hello fellow bogleheads, I have a tax question for you all. I am a professional student and my wife a stay at home mom. Earlier this year, I did a roth conversion of some of our IRA balance to take advantage of this period of zero income. I did not have taxes taken out of this conversion, electing to pay them later. The total amount was about 22k converted. We have two kids and thus significant deductions as a result. Did I make a mistake (and possibly incur a penalty) by not having paid estimated taxes on this? How do you handle taxes in a situation like mine where your entire "income" for the year will be solely from a roth conversion? I'm concerned I may have mistakenly assumed I could just settle up at year end and be ok.

mhalley

Re: Roth IRA conversion my only "income" and when/how to pay taxes

Post by mhalley » Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:07 pm

If 22k is your entire income, you should get a refund. Run taxcaster to be sure.

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tools/c ... taxcaster/
If you had owed taxes, then you should have paid quarterly estimated taxes.
https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tools/t ... 12007.html

capsaicinguy

Post by capsaicinguy » Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:15 pm

Thank you for the reply, taxcaster was what I was basing my numbers/calculations on (and yes it shows a refund when I put my numbers in), but I was concerned that I was going to get hit with a penalty for not having paid anything in. I just wanted to ask here since you all are very knowledgeable. This forum is great and I have learned a TON reading on here, I don't tend to post much unless I have a hard time finding information about my specific situation. Thanks! :sharebeer