Student Debt Advice

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
sundercj

Student Debt Advice

Post by sundercj » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:10 pm

So I'm just out of school and I'm setting up my student loan repayment plan.. I've been doing a lot of research and trying to figure out my best options but I wanted to get some opinions.

https://imgur.com/a/Bpgtz

This is a summary of my different loans separated by the different servicers. The first three have a grace period of 6 months and the last has a grace period of 9 months (I graduated at the end of May). I plan to not pay any towards my Perkins loan for the next 6 months since it's not accruing interest and I don't have any minimum payments on it yet. The rest of my federal loans are unsubsidized and subsidized stafford loans with an okay interest rate. I am planning on just paying the minimum payment on those for now because I am not too worried about that interest getting out of hand and I believe it's not a bad thing to carry some low(ish) interest debt (Correct me if I'm wrong).

Then there are the two private loans in my mom and dads names. Pretty high rates and have already been accruing a good amount of interest. I plan to pay as much of those a month that I can, particularly focusing a little more on my dad's. Probably about 500 to my dads and 400 to my moms. I have very recently been looking into capitalization and that scared me a little bit, but I'm not sure I fully understand it and how it could affect my loans. I'm not exactly sure when my interest would capitalize on these private loans or even how to find that information out.