Fidelity: can no longer use first initial, middle name

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
InvestorThom

Fidelity: can no longer use first initial, middle name

Post by InvestorThom »

All of my financial accounts, legal and tax documents and medical records are in the format:
first initial, middle name, last name... as in I. Thom Boglehead

My Fidelity accounts have been like this for years.

Fidelity is now telling me I can no longer have my accounts in this format, i.e., the accounts have to include my full first name.

"Patriot Act blah blah blah."

Has anyone else run into this?
FIREchief

Re: Fidelity: can no longer use first initial, middle name

Post by FIREchief »

Why would this be a concern?
I am not a lawyer, accountant or financial advisor. Any advice or suggestions that I may provide shall be considered for entertainment purposes only.

Post by 123 »

I guess Fidelity wouldn't be able to accommodate T. Rowe Price as a customer!
The closest helping hand is at the end of your own arm.
Spirit Rider

Post by Spirit Rider »

I'm surprised you have gotten away with it this long.
mouses

Post by mouses »

FIREchief wrote: Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:55 pm Why would this be a concern?
If you're asking why the OP is concerned, it's because it is annoying to not be called by one's name. How would you like to be called BUCKETOFWATERchief?

My sympathies, OP. My name is of the form Framis Zot Smith, where Framis Zot is my first name. You wouldn't believe the struggle to have places not turn this into Framis Z. Smith.

I fail to understand why the Patriot Act gives a whatever. They're effectively changing your name, which seems contrary to their aims.

Maybe you could legally change your name to I. Thom Boglehead :-)
Determined

Post by Determined »