I am in the investment advice industry and I'm not sure if I provide any value

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
bucky6225

I am in the investment advice industry and I'm not sure if I provide any value

Post by bucky6225 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:10 pm

I am a CFA charterholder, and I have been managing money for individuals for about ten years. I am a proponent of using a strategic allocation, and low cost well-diversified index funds. I like what I do, but even as a fiduciary I think charging 1% (the industry standard) for these services makes no sense. I really enjoy personal finance, building portfolios and investing. However, I hate telling people what I do. I feel like a fraud because I know that what I do is not really worth the price tag. The knowledge is out there for any smart person to figure out on their own.

My question to you all is if you see any benefit in using an advisor. If so, what would you pay? I realize the bogleheads forum is skewed more to the low cost do it yourself crowd, but that's why I'm asking. If there are enough people here that see some value in seeking professional advice, perhaps there is a place I can fit. If not, I have been pondering a career change for quite some time and this may confirm my desire to do something I fell better about.

aristotelian

Re: I am in the investment advice industry and I'm not sure if I provide any value

Post by aristotelian » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:17 pm

I think FA's could provide value for some people. Knowledge of tax strategies, withdrawal rate research etc. Teach them how to fish, so to speak. There is a lot more to personal finance than just picking index funds. Investing is the easy part.

I don't think it is possible to be worth a 1% AUM fee but nobody is forcing you to charge that much.

Why don't you shift to a fee-only model?