Online Bill Pay Security: Push or Pull?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
DaftInvestor

Online Bill Pay Security: Push or Pull?

Post by DaftInvestor » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:01 am

I've been doing online bill pay for some 15 years now (before my bank had ebill pay I was using mycheckfree.com). I've gone paperless as soon as possible with every bank/brokerage/credit-card ASAP along the way.
I have some credit cards whereby I go to the credit card site and "pull" payment for my bank. My bank information is stored on their site.
I have other credit cards and various utilities where why I "push" payment from my banks epay system. My credit-card and/or utility information is stored on my bank's site.
I am wondering if anyone knows definitively which is better from a security perspective?
My thoughts:
1) If I "push" from my bank to ALL my credit cards - the info from all my credit cards is stored in a single place. This is a single place whereby if someone was able to gain access they would have all my cards (IF I "pushed" all). In other words - I am trusting my bank to safeguard my private credit card information.
2) If I "pull" payment into a credit card - I am trusting the credit card bank to safeguard my bank's data.

Neither seems full-proof nor does one necessarily seem more or less secure than the other so I've continued with a blended approach. Thoughts?

Broken Man 1999

Re: Online Bill Pay Security: Push or Pull?

Post by Broken Man 1999 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:14 am

I pay all credit cards and various other bills via a "pull" from my account. Never had any issue.

Years ago my thoughts were that any (or many) issues that might arise from a bill not being paid on time would reside at the biller's end, not mine. So long as I kept enough funds in my account, everything would be OK.