Bank charges monthly fee for Quicken and Quickbooks

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
cricket49

Bank charges monthly fee for Quicken and Quickbooks

Post by cricket49 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:03 pm

I have been banking with a local bank for 20 years that basically charges no fees for savings or a money market checking account if you keep a balance of 1,000.00

Another bank recently bought my local bank and I was in the process of enrolling in their online banking. I was surprised to see they charge 7.00 monthly to connect to Quickbooks and 10.00 montly to connect to Quicken. I use both of these programs and MINT. Using other financial banks and institutions including Vanguard, Schwab, Fidelity, Ameritrade, and Ally they NEVER charged a fee to connect.

Has anyone else encountered similar charges? I am thinking of moving all my local money to Ally and Schwab.
Expect the best. Prepare for the worst.

mhalley

Re: Bank charges monthly fee for Quicken and Quickbooks

Post by mhalley » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:11 am

As more and more companies use aggregation, I would not be surprised to see more banks charge for the ability to have accounts accessed by mint, quicken, personal capital, etc. in the meantime, until everyone charges this junk fee, vote with your feet.

spammagnet

Post by spammagnet » Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:58 am

It's not entirely a junk fee because the bank has to pay a license fee to Quicken and there are other costs involved in providing the service. That said, I agree about voting with your feet. It's really not that hard to switch banks.

In the process of doing so, look around for banks that offer cash incentives for switching

DetroitRick

Post by DetroitRick » Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:16 am