Bank not responsible for money stolen by online hackers.

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
tc101

Bank not responsible for money stolen by online hackers.

Post by tc101 » Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:40 am

A friend of mine had his business bank account hacked. The hackers stole $40,000. The bank says they are not responsible because it is a business account. He has talked to a lawyer but is not optimistic about getting the bank to pay.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

barnaclebob

Re: Bank not responsible for money stolen by online hackers.

Post by barnaclebob » Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:45 am

I suspect there is more to this story than "online hackers".

In any case, the bank is only responsible as far as their fraud agreement goes. Its important for everyone to know what kind of fraud protections they have.

Topic Author
tc101

Post by tc101 » Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:49 pm

In any case, the bank is only responsible as far as their fraud agreement goes. Its important for everyone to know what kind of fraud protections they have.
I thought there was some standard bank fraud agreement that was created by federal law. Is that not true?

How good is the fraud agreement at Ally?
How good is the fraud agreement at Vanguard?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

barnaclebob

Post by barnaclebob » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:35 pm

Vanguard's fraud protection policy is listed here:

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/help/S ... ontent.jsp

It is surprising that fraudulent access would not be protected at a bank which is why I suspect there is more to your friend's story. What was the method and circumstances in which the money was taken? Debit card, credit card, wire transfer, stolen check, someone walked in and made a withdrawal?