Post Nuptial agreement guaranteeing alimony?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
notmyhand

Post Nuptial agreement guaranteeing alimony?

Post by notmyhand » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:06 pm

With consultation fees running 250-1000, I figured I should ask whether this was feasible first, before hiring an attorney to draft this. My spouse and I work in the same industry and it is impeding my job prospects as we cannot work in competing positions/companies. I have turned down numerous proposals because my spouse feels his career has higher earning potential and I agree with him and thus have put my career on the back burner. I currently make more money and will for the forseeable future. I am thinking a post nuptial agreement guaranteeing me a portion of his future income would be wise on my part. There is no trouble in paradise or anything of that nature but I am afraid that in the future if something were to happen, a judge would see my satisfactory income and say I have no need for additional income, not factoring in the promotions and salaries I am turning down. Is such an agreement possible or would it never be upheld? Anyone else do anything similar? Wise financial move or waste of time/money?

Edited to add-> It sounds like a postnup giving me more of the assets at the time of the divorce might be better. Is there a certain percentage that would be acceptable or how would one go about figuring out future possible assets?
Last edited by notmyhand on Tue Jul 25, 2017 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ResearchMed

Re: Post Nuptial agreement guaranteeing alimony?

Post by ResearchMed » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:15 pm