Jewelry insurance. Is it ever worth it?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
jkushne1

Jewelry insurance. Is it ever worth it?

Post by jkushne1 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:59 pm

My wife has a three pieces of jewelry worth about $20k in all. For the past couple years we've paid for jewelry insurance at a cost of approximately $320 dollars annually. Not a great deal of money, but the more I read and learn about finance, the more I see that you should only insure things you can't overcome...life, disability, homeowner's, etc... Jewelry insurance doesn't seem to make the cut. Currently I'm a resident but will be an attending in a year. My question is if anyone out there has jewelry insurance and whether it is something worth having at all...or only in select situations. Thanks. 

mhalley

Re: Jewelry insurance. Is it ever worth it?

Post by mhalley » Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:09 pm

Is this seperate insurance or a rider on your renters insurance? Your renters might already be insuring part of the value, but check to see what you would need to file a claim.
http://www.wisebread.com/how-to-insure- ... ap-or-free
https://www.effectivecoverage.com/3419/ ... r-jewelry/
The question is, would your wife be very upset if she lost the jewelry and be compelled to replace it? I imagine an engagement ring would come under that heading, but depends on the spouse.
Last edited by mhalley on Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TallBoy29er

Post by TallBoy29er » Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:12 pm

We canceled our rider for the one piece of jewelry we have worth anything. It felt like throwing money into a hole. If we lost the ring, oh well. Now, if it had cost high 5 figures, that may be a different story.

Lindrobe

Post by Lindrobe » Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:22 pm