How best to Donate?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Cruise

How best to Donate?

Postby Cruise » Sat Jun 17, 2017 5:52 pm

I recently had a meeting with a foundation executive who outlined some options for donating to the foundation. These included:

1. Charitable Remainder Trust
2. Charitable Gift Annuity
3. Charitable Lead Trust
4. IRA Charitable Rollover

As I understand it, the first two provide annual income, avoid some taxation, and benefit the foundation. The third would benefit the foundation, while eventually returning the corpus to my family. The fourth would not provide income, but would obviously benefit the foundation.

I'm new to thinking about these issues, and have not yet approached an attorney or CPA, which I would when I get to the point of taking action. At this time, I thought I would ask this community if they have experience with these decisions, and if so, their thoughts on the benefits and risks of the above options. Thank you.

dm200

Re: How best to Donate?

Postby dm200 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 6:07 pm

Cruise wrote:I recently had a meeting with a foundation executive who outlined some options for donating to the foundation. These included:
1. Charitable Remainder Trust
2. Charitable Gift Annuity
3. Charitable Lead Trust
4. IRA Charitable Rollover
As I understand it, the first two provide annual income, avoid some taxation, and benefit the foundation. The third would benefit the foundation, while eventually returning the corpus to my family. The fourth would not provide income, but would obviously benefit the foundation.