Anyone else agree with my logic on silicon valley housing?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
GrandDesigns

Anyone else agree with my logic on silicon valley housing?

Post by GrandDesigns » Mon May 15, 2017 7:26 pm

I'm an engineer living in silicon valley, and I am pretty sure I'm going to exit within the next year, to somewhere like Austin, Texas or something. I came to the revelation that I need to live SV when I realized that, as long as I am comfortable financially, lifestyle is more important to me than numbers, and I want to work 40 hours a week and have a house with a decent yard and a grill, and that just isn't the lifestyle here.

Anyhow, I do want to make sure I check all my bases before leaving so I was going through the supposed math that the income-to-debt ratio of average housing cost means its still better to live here (if you're an engineer). Let's ignore that the average housing here is lower quality than elsewhere. I make $150k/year in salary and another $100k/year in stock, all taxed at the 33% bracket + 10% state tax. Let's suppose that I decide to spring for a $1,000,000 2 bedroom condo (yes there are cheaper options in South San Jose, etc. but this is the lifestyle thing - if I can't even afford to live near work I am not willing to stay).