Genworth Long Term Care

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
jim3

Genworth Long Term Care

Post by jim3 » Tue May 02, 2017 2:18 pm

I have a Genworth long term care policy that I have been paying into for 20 years.They are raising my premium by 10%, which I can afford. But am I putting bad money into bad money because of their deteriorating financial condition.Thanks

nedsaid

Re: Genworth Long Term Care

Post by nedsaid » Tue May 02, 2017 2:23 pm

My broker told me that Genworth is being purchased by a Chinese firm. The deal should close in the second quarter of this year. Not sure how this will affect your long term policy. I am a shareholder of Genworth.

Long term care policies suffered from a triple whammy: low interest rates, fewer people than expected dropping their policies, and people living longer. That is why I didn't buy in, I felt that the insurance industry didn't price these correctly in the first place and I didn't want to get faced with big premium increases at a time I could least afford it.

Can't give advice on your particular situation, whether you should hang on to your policy or not.
A fool and his money are good for business.

Artful Dodger

Post by Artful Dodger » Tue May 02, 2017 3:33 pm

I agree the ratings are not great. Nedsaid gave the reasons for the problems. Many companies have quit selling coverage altogether, and raised rates too. If they were to go under, and i don't think we are alnywhere close yet, the standard procedure would be for the state's departments of insurance to step in and assign the policies to other carriers in the market. As a last resort they would be covered by your states' guarantee fund. If the China deal goes through, we could see a ratings upgrade which would at least restore some confidence.