When spousal benefits stop

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Almost there

When spousal benefits stop

Post by Almost there » Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:24 am

I have been receiving spousal benefits for the past 3 years and my last month will be April 2018 when I turn 70. In May 2018, I will start receiving social security based on my own record.

Today I received a letter from SS stating that I have to apply for my own social security online based on my own record. I am just wondering why they would send me this letter one year in advance? I was going to check on how to change to my own benefits sometime next year in January or February. The letter also stated, I was supposed to go to the SS website and under Benefits link click Apply Online for Retirement. Well I just went there and nothing is there other than my present benefits I am receiving. I truly prefer doing the process online since the person who answers the phone is not always up-to-date with spousal benefits.

I am now looking for a Boglehead who has gone through this process changing from spousal benefits to your own, so I will know what to anticipate.

Almost there

heartwood

Re: When spousal benefits stop

Post by heartwood » Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:37 am

Almost there wrote:I have been receiving spousal benefits for the past 3 years and my last month will be April 2018 when I turn 70. In May 2018, I will start receiving social security based on my own record.