CPA or TurboTax

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
AgentHoopla

CPA or TurboTax

Post by AgentHoopla » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:17 pm

Hello All,

I have been using turbo tax for many years, and never really understood the value of having a CPA handle my taxes unless I owned a business or have a very difficult tax situation.

Im 27, work at a company and dont own a business, never used a CPA.

What are your thoughts? Do you use a CPA? whats your opinion?

carolinaman

Re: CPA or TurboTax

Post by carolinaman » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:28 pm

It sounds like TT is fine for you. You say you have been using it, so unless you now have some unusual complicated tax situation, I think you are fine with TT.

flamesabers

Post by flamesabers » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:30 pm

carolinaman wrote:It sounds like TT is fine for you. You say you have been using it, so unless you now have some unusual complicated tax situation, I think you are fine with TT.

I also agree with using Turbo Tax. Since your taxes aren't overtly complex, I don't think there is any reason to pay hefty fees for a CPA to do your taxes. Tax software should be more then adequate for you.

unclescrooge

Post by unclescrooge » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:39 pm

I've been using TT since 2000 (1999 taxes).

Between then and now, I've had w2 income, 1099 income from consulting jobs, k-1 income from an S-corp, 18 rental properties, tons of capital gains/losses, carryforward NOLS, and even a 1099-c resulting from a short sale.

TT is a bit a confusing sometimes, but you can call up their help desk and talk to a tax expert.

Last Sunday (2 days before the deadline), my wait time was 18 minutes. I had a question about deducting mortgage interest on a second home - it was complex because I hit the mortgage limits....I was very happy with the results.