Calling for all the Moms: career and family.

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
lotofquestions

Calling for all the Moms: career and family.

Postby lotofquestions » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:20 pm

Hi:
Lately, I have spent sometime to review my finance, therefore my life. I have been a breadwinner for a very longtime because my husband is not in a field that can make money. I also have a big related family back home (outside of US) to support. I have been working 2 jobs ( 1 full and 1 part-time) for the last 17 years.
After graduated, I obtained a professional management job. I stepped down after having my first child and chose a position that offers me a better schedule with my child.
Second child came and now they are both teenagers.

As I stepped down to a regular position, I studied and obtained my MBA online (paid my employer). I turned down the offer for a new job, afraid that I will neglect my daughters with meeting and job responsibilities.

Two years from graduating with an MBA, I am still not doing anything with it. I even cut down to 2 part- time jobs. Benefits: flexible hours, less stress, only work when kids in school, time to drive kids to and from school, go anywhere with them (I still work full time hours, but at my own desired schedule). Therefore, no change in finance situation here. My kids are doing very well in school and other activities. However, I am very unhappy when thinking about my career. I also worry that my decision now will hurt my family later if there is a reduction in workforce.

I wonder if anyone has done the same? I am seeking advice/thoughts from working and non-working Mom out there!

Thank you for reading!

JDCarpenter

Re: Calling for all the Moms: career and family.

Postby JDCarpenter » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:02 am