California income tax on non-resident sole proprietorship independent contractors?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
AmericanCanadian

California income tax on non-resident sole proprietorship independent contractors?

Postby AmericanCanadian » Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:15 am

I have been searching and reading the historical posts in this forum for days now without being able to locate the answer for this particular situation... So I'm hoping this will provide an interesting discussion and yield some answers!

In point form:

• I am a US citizen (ex-Nevada resident), who moved to Canada in February 2016 after being sponsored by my Canadian citizen spouse for permanent residency.
  • I am a self-employed writer operating as a sole-proprietorship for several years now (doing business under own legal name -- so not actually 'registered').
  • Since I've immigrated to Canada, I am fully-taxed on worldwide income at both the Federal and Provincial (i.e comparable to State) level there since February 2016.
  • Over the last several years I've had clients in many different states, but for all of 2016 I worked nearly exclusively on a large contract I received from a company in California. To make the math easy, let's say I received $45k from the California client (reported on 1099-MISC), and $5k from clients elsewhere in the US and Canada.
  • For the most part, I work remotely from my home in Canada except for business trips throughout the year to California.

The US federal income tax situation is quite straightforward and covered in depth by the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion, Foreign Tax Credits, the US-Canada Tax Treaty, US-Canada Social Security Totalization Agreement, etc. (despite the need to pro-rate the proportion of time I was in the US before moving to Canada and after) -- it's the California Income Tax situation that appears to be a doozie.