2016 Saver's Credit + My Stupidity = No Saver's Credit?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
dudelove22

2016 Saver's Credit + My Stupidity = No Saver's Credit?

Post by dudelove22 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:11 pm

I recently got myself into (possibly) a dumb situation by not being patient and not reading the fine print. Here's the scoop:

2016 financial info:
~ $38K AGI, Married Filing Jointly [all gross income coming from earnings (non-investments)]
No retirement contributions.
Spouse was apparently covered under an employer-sponsored retirement plan (box 13 checked on W2).
I was a full time student (although I was receiving income via an assistantship) and was not covered by an employer-sponsored plan.

I had already filed my 2016 taxes and paid about $1500 in federal taxes. I was browsing this forum and a light bulb went off in my head. I would contribute $3K to a TIRA for myself for the 2016 year (it's before the April 18 deadline), lower our income to below the $37K AGI threshold, and get a tax credit (saver's credit) of 50% of the contributions (i.e., the $1500 I paid in taxes) which in theory would lower my tax bill to $0 for 2016.

To make a long story short, I then read the documentation for the saver's credit and realized that I could not apply this as I was a full-time student for most of 2016. Now I am not sure if I'm 'stuck' with $3K in a TIRA for 2016... So two questions:

1) Can I get the saver's credit if I take the same approach, but deposit the $3K into my spouse's TIRA? Or does her employer-sponsored plan negate this?
2) Can I somehow get back my TIRA contributions? They are not invested yet and I just contributed less than two weeks ago.

Any guidance is much appreciated!

flamesabers

Re: 2016 Saver's Credit + My Stupidity = No Saver's Credit?

Post by flamesabers » Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:34 pm