Income Tax Return Extension

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Leesbro63

Income Tax Return Extension

Postby Leesbro63 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:53 am

Is there any evidence that putting your Federal tax return on extension increases the chance of an audit? Are there any other real consequences of extension?

jebmke

Re: Income Tax Return Extension

Postby jebmke » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:57 am

I have been doing extensions for many years. I had a couple of IRS letters (I call these "desk audits") but I know exactly what triggered them and it had nothing to do with the extension. I extended into January one year due to delays in information from Belgium and that return was accepted immediately and never questioned.
When you discover that you are riding a dead horse, the best strategy is to dismount.

psteinx

Postby psteinx » Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:18 pm

I've used extensions for a number of years now. I can't speak to the audit risk side of things, but here are a few things to note (not an exhaustive list):

1) A general issue with the extension is that it doesn't extend the need to pay. Thus, if your tax bill, as ultimately computed, is, say, $20K, then you need to have paid $20K by April 15 or face penalties. But since you probably don't know your exact tax bill on April 15 (because you're extending), you'll probably want to overpay. Or, if you're due a refund, that refund will be delayed until you do file.

Therefore:
1a - You'll probably be making an interest free loan to the government for a time. Not a HUGE deal in a low interest rate environment, but not nothing.
1b - If you make a mistake and misestimate, you'll owe some interest and/or penalties. I did this once that I can recall. The interest/penalties didn't seem too bad to me, in relation to the amount in question, but I would have preferred to avoid it.