Career Dilemma - Seeking Input

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Midpoint

Career Dilemma - Seeking Input

Postby Midpoint » Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:31 pm

Working towards a job change, seeking input from the BH group.

I am in year 15 of my professional career, have been a manager in my workgroup for 5 years. Prior to being a manager I was a supervisor, prior to that an individual contributor. I have enjoyed some of the projects I've lead, but overall feel I have reached a plateau. In my division I report to a Director, I do not desire this position and would not apply if it were vacant. I feel I would be a poor fit and honestly not suited to the challenge of the role above me. At the same time, I continue to fill in at an individual contributor level when staff schedules require. I like this work and enjoy the sense of purpose it gives me.

Fundamentally I do not feel suited to personnel management and this aspect of my work drains me. My workgroup and I will most likely both be better off longterm if I leave my current role. This tells me it is time to pursue a change.

In a new position I am seeking knowledge ownership, a sense of purpose, and demonstrable ways to see and feel the value I provide. I would also love the chance to grow, learn, and teach. Salary is not a top concern.

I have several options in front of me:

1) Apply to part time individual contributor role with same workgroup. Would reduce my net income by ~50% based on a combination of FTE reduction and likely salary reduction. More free time and less stress, objectively worse schedule (nights/weekends), no changes for DW and no relocation. Short term this would be a blow to my ego, long term likely limits my career opportunities with same employer.