Backdoor Roth IRA conversion - is my technique allowed?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
nik

Backdoor Roth IRA conversion - is my technique allowed?

Post by nik » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:05 pm

Hello Bogleheads,

I am relatively new to the world of investing.
Our total household income last year was over $200K,
so I read about backdoor Roth IRA and followed Morningstar's recommended
technique for Traditional to Roth IRA conversion.

Last October I opened a Traditional IRA account at Vanguard with $1500.
I kept it for 2 months and on December 2016 I converted the $1500(plus the gains) to a Roth IRA.

This February 2017 I put in $4000 more into the Roth IRA for the maximum
permitted amount of $5500 for the tax year 2016.

I am concerned if my Backdoor conversion was allowed - would it have been correct to put in
the entire $5500 into a tradition IRA and convert the amount to Roth IRA, rather than partial
conversion to Roth IRA and then funding the account for maximum allowed contribution.

Thank you!

FiveK

Re: Backdoor Roth IRA conversion - is my technique allowed?

Post by FiveK » Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:38 pm

nik wrote:Our total household income last year was over $200K...This February 2017 I put in $4000 more into the Roth IRA for the maximum
The $1500 backdoor appears fine, but unless you contributed enough pre-tax to get your MAGI below ~$186,000 you don't meet the IRS requirements for making "front door" Roth contributions.

See Amount of Roth IRA Contributions That You Can Make for 2016 for more.

See also IRA recharacterization - Bogleheads for how you might change the disallowed Roth contribution to a non-deductible traditional one, which you can then put into the Roth via the back door.

Might be worthwhile to call the brokerage firm where these are held. Unlikely you are the first to be in this situation with them....

Alan S.