Independent contractor solo 401k

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
cals400ex

Independent contractor solo 401k

Post by cals400ex » Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:52 am

I'm 33 years old, single, Illinois resident. I have two jobs. One job I'm an employee (make about $85K gross, but this can vary quite a bit), the second job I'm an independent contractor and I have NO employees (make about 20K gross, but this can vary a lot, too). Job 1 has a 401k with good funds (vanguard and DFA) and has a 1% management fee. I'm wanting to setup a solo 401k for job 2 (with low cost funds and manage it myself). My goal is to fund as much as possible into a tax advantaged account. I also usually do a backdoor roth ira (I usually can't do a regular roth ira due to income limits, but it's close).

1. If I defer 18K at job 1, how much can I contribute tax free to the solo 401k? I've been told it's: 20% (net business profit - 1/2 SE tax), but I've also read on the IRS website that it's: 25% of compensation as defined by the plan. I wasn't sure which...
2. Do I have until April 15th, the following year, to contribute to the solo 401K? Job 1 requires the 401k contributions to come out of the paycheck, but I will not exactly know what my profit is for job 2 until the end of the year.
3. Are all miles to and from work tax deductible for job 2 (I'm a dentist that does work for underprivileged people in assisted living centers/nursing homes at job 2. I drive to several different facilities). I know I can't deduct miles driven to and from work with job 1, but is that possible with job 2?
4. In terms of calculating business expenses, I'm assuming lunches are not tax deductible unless it's specifically work related? I don't have any equipment that I need to buy, that is all supplied to me. I know I can deduct malpractice insurance, dental licenses, continuing education, etc.