Doctors and retirement

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
me112964

Doctors and retirement

Postby me112964 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:53 am

Have been reading an interesting thread on a foroum on White Coat Investor's website that asks what a doctors FI/early retirement goal might be. Many respondents talking about 5-10 million. I am a doctor, married to a doctor and look at these numbers in astonishment. It would appear that there is a significant consumption problem with physicians. With a 4% withdrawal rate you are talking 200-400k a year!! This would put them in the top 5% of wage earners even in retirement. Having spent many days with patients in the last days of their lives, I can recall of no desire for a bigger house, boat, more expensive car etc. what people really want is to share their time with.......wait for it......people, not things. That is what makes us truly happy. When things own us we are no longer living. We are simply living to consume. Thoughts?

lthenderson

Re: Doctors and retirement

Postby lthenderson » Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:11 am

My wife's a doctor and I see that among some of her colleagues too. Some spend like money is going out of style. But most in her practice live like we do, in conservative houses, drive ordinary cars and "slow down" by their late 40's or early 50's. In her practice, more than half the doctors now work less than six months a year. Those that work full time into their upper 50's are generally the ones with spending problems.

vencat

Postby vencat » Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:37 am

What's wrong with aiming for a high(er) retirement net worth?
To each his own. My wife and and I are both physicians in our mid 50s with very decent incomes and I've been investing the Boglehead way for about 20 years.