Best HSA (2017)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
rgurmankin

Best HSA (2017)

Post by rgurmankin » Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:43 pm

Starting an HSA this year and wondering about best place to put the money. Planning on letting the money accumulate; not use for current med. expenses. Wife & I are in late '50s and self employed. I know HSA Bank has been recommended in older posts, but what about now. Found Sun FCU, which pays 2% on amounts over $5000 and 3% over 10k. No monthly fees. Down the line, I figure I could move the money to somewhere else that allows investment option. Anyone familiar with Sun or other suggestions. Thanks

Highlander1917

Re: Best HSA (2017)

Post by Highlander1917 » Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:46 pm

I'm new to Bogleheads. 28 years old.

I spent a lot of time looking into this same issue over the past month. I ultimately chose Saturna Capital http://www.saturna.com/individual/hsa/ as the best place to start growing an investment HSA.

So long as you invest solely in Saturna's proprietary mutual funds, there is no cost to open, maintain, or close the account. Saturna also allows first-dollar investing. The only cost of the account is the relatively high expense ratio of an actively-managed fund ( 0.9% for Amana Income Institutional Shares). They also seem to have reasonable and intelligent customer service.