What 529 plan are TX residents using?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
new2bogle

What 529 plan are TX residents using?

Post by new2bogle »

I've been late at this but need to get college savings started for my little ones. For residents of TX, what plan are you using for the 529? Oldest is still in elementary. I will likely seed with ~$40-50k and then make monthly payments (at an undetermined value as of yet).
Bondman

Re: What 529 plan are TX residents using?

Post by Bondman »

I am a resident of Texas. I use Nevada 529 plan in order to get access to Vanguard funds. If you are interested in Texas public universities, have you considered Texas Promise Fund?
EHEngineer

Post by EHEngineer »

Nevada. Low cost and didn't require another login. I considered Utah, but the extra login wasn't worth it to me.
Or, you can ... decline to let me, a stranger on the Internet, egg you on to an exercise in time-wasting, and you could say "I'm probably OK and I don't care about it that much." -Nisiprius
Raymond

Post by Raymond »

I use the Utah plan.
"Ritter, Tod und Teufel"
SurferLife

Post by SurferLife »

We are using Utah.
KlangFool

Post by KlangFool »

new2bogle wrote:I've been late at this but need to get college savings started for my little ones. For residents of TX, what plan are you using for the 529? Oldest is still in elementary. I will likely seed with ~$40-50k and then make monthly payments (at an undetermined value as of yet).
new2bogle,

1) Do you max up your Trad. 401K contribution?

2) How old are you?

3) Why would you want to pay more tax by contributing to 529 plan?

KlangFool
30% VWENX | 16% VFWAX/VTIAX | 14.5% VTSAX | 19.5% VBTLX | 10% VSIAX/VTMSX/VSMAX | 10% VSIGX| 30% Wellington 50% 3-funds 20% Mini-Larry
CppCoder

Post by CppCoder »

I use the New York plan, also Vanguard underlying funds.
homerj15

Post by homerj15 »