Infosec Tech jobs and quality of life in Raleigh area

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
MikeZ

Infosec Tech jobs and quality of life in Raleigh area

Post by MikeZ »

My spouse and I have been thinking about moving for lifestyle reasons. Mainly we are looking at areas near mountains with seasons, but not bad snow, where we coold purchase a home on at at least 1.5 acres for under $300k and still be in a decent commute of employment centers. I work in IT audit and information security.

One of the areas that is on the top of our list right now is the Raleigh area.

Can anyone speak to whether our Internet searching on this is leading us in the right direction and if there are other areas we should consider?
lazydavid

Re: Infosec Tech jobs and quality of life in Raleigh area

Post by lazydavid »

There's a huge tech sector right outside Raleigh in Research Triangle Park. Here's the Company Directory. Quite a bit in the surrounding area as well. Very beautiful out there almost any time of year, and RDU is among my favorite airports. Very easy to get through.
ten2go

Post by ten2go »

Geographically, the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area is fairly big. Especially if you're considering living on the outskirts to get more land for your $.

Do you need to consider school districts?

I'd first rent a house or apartment for 6 months or a year to get to know the area. See what part of town fits you best. Also, see where you end up working.

There are a lot of tech jobs. As the other poster mentioned, RTP has many of them. Other companies have set up shop in downtown Raleigh or Durham.
Bondman

Post by Bondman »

It is a nice area. It may be hard to find 1.5 acres in Raleigh at the price, but if you are willing to commute 20-30 minutes, it can be done. As others said, there are several tech hotspots in the area (Raleigh by NCSU, RTP, Durham).