Risky job opportunity, or Microsoft at its start?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Planner

Risky job opportunity, or Microsoft at its start?

Post by Planner »

I'm a PhD student in mechanical engineering, and am becoming involved with a small company that seems to have the technology to change the world (I reached out to the founder of the company because of ties to my university, and he apparently was actually on business in my state, pursuing what seems to be a promising opportunity). I'm torn as to whether I should continue down this path -- but honestly, I can't unlearn what i now know, and would have trouble working on anything else. I'm very passionate about this, thinking about it when I go to bed and when I wake up. There is money to be made, but major obstacles I don't expect to be sorted out soon.

If you were in a similar situation in your own industry, what would you do? Or any thoughts at all would be appreciated. I'm heading out of town for a couple days, but can provide more detail when I get back. Just looking for a few general thoughts at the moment.

Oh, and for context, I'm 28, and married with 2 kids and counting. Our income isn't extremely high, but it's decent for a student with a part-time working spouse. Our net worth is very positive, we max out Roth IRAs, HSA, and put money into 529s, UTMAS, and ESAs. I've always worried about money and started saving young, but we're now at a point where I (obviously) feel less pressure to take a job I'm not interested in. Of course, I don't want to be a starving artist that can't provide for his family either...
mhalley

Re: Risky job opportunity, or Microsoft at its start?

Post by mhalley »