Good Non-Computer Jobs?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
heybro

Good Non-Computer Jobs?

Post by heybro » Mon Jul 11, 2016 1:17 am

Dear Bogleheads Community,
I have enjoyed my time here a lot and have mostly posted in the investing categories.
Because everyone here is very smart, I thought I could ask a question that is related to employment.

Do you know of any good jobs that do not require the use of a computer?

I am young, have a four year college liberal arts degree, and I currently hold a good job.
Because of a nerve issue in my arm, for which I have had surgery for, it is not a good idea for me to work full time on a computer. (I try to limit my personal use of it as well). [Please do not hijack this thread as a medical advice thread. I can assure you, right now, there is no solution for working on a computer full time.]

Anyways, I currently work in retail and it is a good fit because I walk around a lot and do not use a computer. Sitting at a desk can be harmful to my nerve and so can standing in one spot for a long period of time. Moving around a lot but also not doing too much with my hands, is ideal.

I really see, typing it out, that there are little choices out there isn't there!

Here is what I have thought of so far (and keep in mind of course my current job may be the best fit):

Something in a hospital - delivering food or something.
Mail Carrier
Mental Health Technician (orderly)
Park Ranger
Forest Service
Forensics
X-ray Technician
Something with dogs.
Own my own Dairy Queen!

It means a lot to me to be able to post. I make about 30k right now. I am very smart but because of this nerve thing, my options have been limited. Thank you; Thank you!

AlohaJoe

Re: Good Non-Computer Jobs?

Post by AlohaJoe » Mon Jul 11, 2016 1:59 am