Postnuptial agreement for Physician

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
kaizen

Postnuptial agreement for Physician

Post by kaizen » Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:59 am

Hi,

My wife and I recently got married and joined our finances. We currently don't have any significant assets (she has about 30K in student loan debt, and 25K in her retirement account; while I have 16K in car debt, no student loans). I am a physician and she is a nurse. I am still in training, and will become an attending next year when I will see my salary increase by approx 6x. I have a clear idea of what I want for my life and I want to achieve financial independence very early in my career (10 years of working full time) to pursue other interests and travel. I will aggressively save most of my salary in order to do that. My wife likes the idea of FI and traveling, but I occasionally have the feeling she will be content in spending her salary as she pleases, with no significant concerns in savings while I do the "dirty work". She is also content with taking one 2 week vacation per year and continuing to work as she currently does. She is very independent and is completely able to take care of herself without needing my help.
The first point is one that I already know - I should've had this conversation about finances and future plans more extensively before getting married, but you know. Can't go back into the past now. We are deeply in love and I have no plans of divorcing her - our marriage has been doing great.
However I worry about the future and of being part of the statistics with the high divorce rate.
I don't feel it is fair for me to work hard for 10 years to be able to be financially independent, but if something goes wrong and we don't make it as a couple, I would have to hand over to her half of my hard work, only to add another 10 years to my full time working career.