Need a new online bank for checking (Capital One 360, Ally?)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
caklim00

Need a new online bank for checking (Capital One 360, Ally?)

Post by caklim00 »

I've been using Fidelity as my main checking account for the past 10 years or so, but unfortunately our relationship has come to an end, and I will not be able to continue using them as my main checking.

I have some B&M banks, but I've gotten used to the ease of Fidelity. Free checks, ATM rebates, quick money transfers, etc.

Does anyone have any recommendations on who I should consider as my primary replacement? I've had an Ally Savings account for a while now, but hardly used it. The 2 that I'm seriously considering right now are
1) Ally Checking
2) Capital One 360 Checking

I definitely want a bank that has the following:
1) Quick money transfers without fees (to other banks)
2) Free Checks - probably write around 12 per year
3) Either ATM rebates or large ATM network

Anyone have any thoughts or any other recommendations? I'm going to have to change all my recurring payments etc. so I'd prefer not to hop around.
chonp3

Re: Need a new online bank for checking (Capital One 360, Ally?)

Post by chonp3 »

Countless previous threads on this. I would vote for Ally esp. since you already have an Ally savings. Transfers between the two accounts are instant, and you will have free overdraft transfer. Customer service is never more than a minute or two wait. I have had Ally checking/savings for the past 5 years and have enjoyed banking with them.
Jags4186

Post by Jags4186 »

I vote Ally unless you make frequent ATM withdrawals. Ally only reimburses $10/mo max. If you make a lot of ATM visits I vote Schwab High Yield [/s] Checking as they have unlimited ATM reimbursements.
rav2fi

Post by rav2fi »