Which Engineering Discipline for the next 20+ years !!!

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
LiveSimple

Post by LiveSimple »

This is a sequel to this discussion
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=171074

For a student getting into college this fall, which engineering discipline will you suggest.
Student may not be a mere staff engineering, more analytical hence will become a research engineer.
Understand that the student has to find for them self what to do ? But some pointers will help them appreciate what is out there.

So if you have some insights please share.
Invest when you have the money, sell when you need the money, for real life expenses...
investingdad

Re: Which Engineering Discipline for the next 20+ years !!!

Post by investingdad »

I'm a chemical engineer.

I'd recommend computer engineering, electrical, or mechanical.

I'd also consider something that leads to computer forensics.

As for engineering being to easy...I suggest a double major in electrical and computer engineering. Have him get back me after a few years of that course load. On the flip side, he'll probably never be unemployed.
Last edited by investingdad on Tue Mar 29, 2016 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

The person who invents a cell phone that detects explosive materials within 20 meters along with a change in the magnetic lines of force indicting presence of ball bearings and nails in close proximity will do quite well. A phone case that is high velocity impact-proof and a line of clothes with breast pockets that can hold such phones over one's vital organs needs work, too.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
adamthesmythe

Post by adamthesmythe »

Electrical is the biggest in size, especially considering that many place computer engineering partly with electrical.