Applied for 100 jobs, no callbacks. What's up?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
betterfinances

Applied for 100 jobs, no callbacks. What's up?

Post by betterfinances » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:07 pm

What is wrong with the job market right now? I am (not too seriously) looking for a different job. I work in the mechanical engineering industry, and have a bs and Ms in mech eng. About 10-15 years experience. I have submitted my resume online to 100 positions in the last 2 weeks and have received 0 followup to the positions!

How is the Engineering job market right now?
Last edited by betterfinances on Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

arizonaslim

Re: Applied for 100 jobs, no callbacks. What's up?

Post by arizonaslim » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:09 pm

Alas, you're not the first person to share this tale. As for the problem, it isn't you. It's the economy. :(

prudent

Post by prudent » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:10 pm

No knowledge of that job market but I know our company often does not make contact with applicants within two weeks. They leave it up to the hiring manager to select applicants for follow-up, and if there are a ton of applicants and the hiring manager is very busy, it takes a while.

Toons

Post by Toons » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:10 pm

2 weeks?
Give it a little more time.
In the interim ,keep sending out applications.
"One does not accumulate but eliminate. It is not daily increase but daily decrease. The height of cultivation always runs to simplicity" –Bruce Lee

mac808

Post by mac808 » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:13 pm

From what I've seen, hiring has frozen up significantly since shortly after New Years. I think companies are waiting to see which way the economy turns.

btks

Post by btks » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:13 pm