Is the high cost of living in Northern VA/DC worth it?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
btks

Is the high cost of living in Northern VA/DC worth it?

Post by btks »

I'm currently a sophomore in college pursuing a BS in Computer Science. I will graduate in May 2018 and I am looking to move back to Northern VA. Yet, living there will be very costly for someone just entering the workforce and I can barely fathom how anyone right out of college can afford to live in the Northern VA/DC area. As a single person, that will be quite difficult.

But, there are some very good reasons to live there: more job opportunities, higher salary potentials, etc. Because I am pursuing a degree in CS, I will most likely seek employment as a software engineer. No idea what to expect coming out of college in terms of salary in the Northern VA/DC area. And, almost surely I won't be able to buy a home in that area for at least five to ten years given that the median home price is well over $500K!

Of course, I could choose to remain in Richmond, VA, where I am going to college. But, I don't believe there are enough job opportunities here and the pay will likely be significantly lower than in NoVA... at least that's what I would think. However, the homes cost less here, too.

I know I'm still 2.5 years away from graduating, but I always like to have a game plan and I want to know what to expect when I graduate. Everyone is always telling me that I will be very successful... but I've run the numbers and even if I start out at $80,000 (probably not likely?), things will be tight in Northern VA if I were to purchase a home. Any thoughts / ideas about what I can expect to make there and whether it is even worth it?