Goal mindset when seeing ceiling in career

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
MikeZ

Goal mindset when seeing ceiling in career

Post by MikeZ » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:55 am

So long story short, I'm 31, married, no kids yet. I work in IT security making in the low-90's. I am currently saving 16% of my income into my 401(k), though some major expenses in the next couple of years (new car, hvac systems) may require I dial that back.

The problem I'm having is that any financial goal setting/planning I'm doing is running into the same problem, I am starting to hit the limits of HR mandated payband in my Megacorp profession. I can draw a line in terms of promotions over the next 5-10 years but it does not move the needle a lot, considering the benefit cuts my MegaCorp has had.

That that's problem I have. I have a good paying job with decent hours and I live in a relatively low COL area.

I have thought about going independent contractor/consultant route but that would likely require more travel than I want, its a lot of risk, and I don't see the exit strategy.

When I think of some of my goals (retire early, cabin in the mountains, learning to fly) and compare it to my compensation track I'm starting to see meeting those goals as either requiring more risk taking with my investments or a career change with a higher ceiling.

Just wondering if anyone has experienced the restlessness of when there is a delta between their goals and career track?

RadAudit
Location: Second star on the right and straight on 'til morning

Re: Goal mindset when seeing ceiling in career

Post by RadAudit » Mon Oct 26, 2015 11:34 am

MikeZ wrote:st wondering if anyone has experienced the restlessness of when there is a delta between their goals and career track?