How to respond when someone asks how much money you make?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
hayling

Post by hayling » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:27 pm

Just the other day I had two seperate guys at work ask me what my salary was. It wasn't out of context in the conversations we were having...I'm a government contractor and they are government employees who are curious how much more money they could make as a contractor. They aren't on my team and I only speak to them occasionally, so I think they felt safe(r) asking.

It caught me off guard in the first conversation so I told him an approximate number that was about 20k lower than my actual salary. In the second conversation I told him I'd rather not say. The conversation felt a little uncomfortable or awkward after that and ended shortly after, so I'm wondering if anyone has a more delicate or positive way to respond to this question. How do you respond if/when people ask this?

For context, I'm 27 and both of the guys I spoke to are around the same age.

Sheepdog

Re: How to respond when someone asks how much money you make

Post by Sheepdog » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:32 pm

I would never tell someone what I made. It can do no good to anyone for them to know. If such a question came up, I would say, "it is best that we don't know what we each earn. It is private, in my opinion."

Actually, my company frowned on sharing what we made. That is a good idea.
It's not what you gather, but what you scatter which tells what kind of life you have lived---Helen Walton

livesoft

Post by livesoft » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:33 pm

I haven't ever been asked, but if I was asked, I would say something like, "You can investigate online what kind of salaries folks like me make."
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

InvestorNewb

Post by InvestorNewb » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:34 pm