35 yr-old doc needs some wisdom

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
madman19

35 yr-old doc needs some wisdom

Post by madman19 » Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:55 am

Hi everyone.

I've been lurking here anonymously for a few months and have learned a tremendous amount from everyone. I am a new physician who last year read The Bogleheads' Guide to Investing, and have since converted to the Boglehead way.

Prior to my conversion, I lived beyond my means in medical school and residency. I also foolishly bought a house with 0% down in residency (doctor loan!) and had to write a check for 1/3 of the purchase price to get out of it. Because of these mistakes, in addition to delayed earning due to being in training, I feel way behind. However, I know I have a big shovel and my trajectory has been steeply upward during my first 15 months in practice - my net worth is less negative by $180k since starting practice according to Mint.com. I would very much appreciate your advice and recommendations on how I am doing and how I should move forward. Here goes...

E-fund: 1 month of expenses (I know)
Debt: $163k of student loans at 3.5%, $12k credit card at 0% until May 2015, luxury car lease $700 which is up in July 2015
Tax filing status: Single
Income: $350k (MA for state taxes)

Current portfolio: Around $42k

Breakdown:
tIRA: VTSAX $12k ($5.5k are 2014 contributions which will be converted to Roth by the end of the year. The rest will be rolled into my company 401k prior to 12/31/14 to avoid pro rata.)
Roth IRA: VGTSX $7.7k, VBMFX $3.5k, T. Rowe Price Retirement 2055 Fund $2.6k
HSA: VTSMX $5k
401k: VFINX $8.8k, VSMAX $2.2k

2014 Annual contributions:
401K 17.5k
Backdoor Roth: $5.5
HSA: $3.3k

I have high-quality disability insurance that was obtained in residency. I have no life insurance as I think my dog would be fine without me.

Questions:
1. How am I doing?