Teacher Considering Career Change

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
MassInvestor

Teacher Considering Career Change

Post by MassInvestor » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:42 pm

Hi Everyone,

I am going to throw a few things out there and see what people think. Please be nice.

I graduated from undergrad with a degree in economics in 2011. I got a masters in education in an accelerated program in 2012 and worked as a substitute teacher for the 12-13 academic year. I taught full time during 13-14. The climate at that school was bad. Other teachers suggested I look elsewhere as it was only getting worse year by year. I asked for letters of recommendation which in retrospect may have been a poor choice since it tipped my principal off that I was looking elsewhere. He non-renewed my contract.

Now, I am unemployed and looking for work. I am certified in my state, Massachusetts, and I have good recommendations so I am sure I will find employment for the next school year. I am unsure if I will find a school any better than the one I left. Better schools prefer hiring teachers with more experience.

My first year teaching was somewhat disillusioning. I am considering looking for a job outside of education but I don't know where to begin. I am one of those liberal arts graduates who is trained to do everything and nothing.

Does anybody out there know the feeling or have any thoughts?

-MI
Last edited by MassInvestor on Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wilked

Re: Teacher Considering Career Change

Post by wilked » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:43 pm

What state are we talking about?

MassInvestor

Post by MassInvestor » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:46 pm

wilked wrote:What state are we talking about?
Massachusetts

DJM

Post by DJM » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:59 pm