Fixing 8606 error, understanding IRA basis

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
praxis

Fixing 8606 error, understanding IRA basis

Post by praxis »

By mistake, I underreported my total IRA value on last year's 8606. The amounts for my conversion and cost basis were correct. The error skewed the multiplier that calculates the taxable portion of the conversion resulting in about $11,000 in unreported income on my return (line 15). To fix this, do I amend the 2012 form 8606 AND file an amended return, paying the tax and penalty?

As I studied the form, it looks like the appreciation on the after-tax contributions are not taxed as I make distributions. The multiplier created by the ratio between pre and after tax bases is used to determine the taxable portion of the distributions (conversions). It seems like this calculation subtracts the after tax contribution basis and appreciation from taxable income.
HouseStark

Re: Fixing 8606 error, understanding IRA basis

Post by HouseStark »

To correct the return, you would file a 2012 1040X amended return, and with that return attach the corrected Form 8606 and any other part of the original tax return that is changed by the amended return. If a form or schedule is not changed by the amended return, then it is not included with the 1040X.
HouseStark

Post by HouseStark »

praxis wrote: As I studied the form, it looks like the appreciation on the after-tax contributions are not taxed as I make distributions. The multiplier created by the ratio between pre and after tax bases is used to determine the taxable portion of the distributions (conversions). It seems like this calculation subtracts the after tax contribution basis and appreciation from taxable income.