Career Transition Question

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
FRefugee

Career Transition Question

Post by FRefugee » Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:17 pm

I realize that the question I am about to pose can only be answered in a honest manner by none other than me, but sometimes it is healthy and useful to hear the thoughts of other people in order to arrive at a more advanced and nuanced level of objectivity. So here it is.

I just turned 30, and have been working in the public sector as a legislative aide and policy analyst since I graduated from college at age 25 (I was in the military prior to matriculating). My salary is around $65K and I supplement my income as a fly fishing guide. I have no debt, live well below my means, and place a lot of emphasis on saving and investing. I have been dating my girlfriend for almost three years and by this time next year we will be engaged. I would like to buy a home in 2016.

In the past 12 months, I have become very restless at my job. I want to do something where my work earnings are tied directly to my effort and productivity. As some of you are most likely aware, this is not always the case in government work. The next echelon of earnings for me would be to go out and lobby, but pounding the halls of the state capitol handing out checks and persuading hungover staffers that my client's bill is good for business/Texas/free market principles does not resonate on a deep level with me. In fact, I am fairly certain that I would hate it, even though I would be making upwards of $100K.