Age 24: How should I allocate my excess cash flow?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Moranall

Age 24: How should I allocate my excess cash flow?

Post by Moranall » Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:05 pm

Emergency funds: ~$10k (~5 months or so; additional support if needed from parents)
Debt: Student loans, car (see below)
Tax Filing Status: Single, no kids
Tax Rate: 25% Federal, 4.24% State ($67,500 income)
State of Residence: AZ
Monthly expenses: ~$2-2.2k/month after rent/utilities (excluding loans)
Monthly income: ~$3.7k/month

Investments:
Taxable: $4,700
Trad IRA: $1,700
Roth IRA: $1,300
HSA: $1,500/year
New 401k: 8%

I graduated last December with a BSE in aerospace engineering and started my first 'professional' job in January. I just started up my 401k this month (currently at 8% which is max employer match; should have started in January but was 'waiting' until I got my company match in September). I have debt as follows:

Student loans:
$24,600 @ 6.8% (fed)
$4,460 @ 5.6% (fed)
$6,600 @ 5.0% (private)
$5,450 @ 4.5% (fed)
$5,450 @ 3.4% (fed)
$6,000 @ 2.0% (private)

Car loan:
$17,100 @ 0% for 5 years ($10,700 left, $290/month)

Credit Cards:
I have 3 credit cards with various rewards, but I have not paid interest on a credit card in at least 3 years (as far back as I could see). I use my credit card for virtually everything and pay it off each month.

So far this year, paid off the interest on the loans (about $4,000) to prevent capitalization and made another $2,500 in payments before my repayment period began this month. My current monthly payments are now $105 for my two private loans and $440 for my private loans.