Young professional: how is Orange county NY

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
dance873

Young professional: how is Orange county NY

Post by dance873 » Thu Jun 13, 2013 1:19 pm

I am a young physician in training looking for jobs one year from now.

Could anyone help comment on tax, cost of living, physician compensation, malpractice environment of Orange County, NY?

I am single right now and live and train in NJ. I am aware of NJ's high tax, relatively low physician compensation, and high cost of housing/property tax.
I heard NY state has high tax burden also. I also heard Orange County can be expensive, since a lot of people work in NYC.
I like NYC and now go there once a month for fun, for the museums and Central Park and good food.

Grt2bOutdoors

Re: Young professional: how is Orange county NY

Post by Grt2bOutdoors » Thu Jun 13, 2013 1:44 pm

dance873 wrote:I am a young physician in training looking for jobs one year from now.

Could anyone help comment on tax, cost of living, physician compensation, malpractice environment of Orange County, NY?

I am single right now and live and train in NJ. I am aware of NJ's high tax, relatively low physician compensation, and high cost of housing/property tax.
I heard NY state has high tax burden also. I also heard Orange County can be expensive, since a lot of people work in NYC.
I like NYC and now go there once a month for fun, for the museums and Central Park and good food.
It's nice and scenic in the fall, great hiking as well. Lots of outdoors stuff to do (Harriman State Park), if you're into it.
To be frank, if you live in NYS, NYC, NJ or CT and you make a decent income or not, you will pay taxes through the nose.