Buying a house with my SO, but one of us has bad credit

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
rianjs

Buying a house with my SO, but one of us has bad credit

Post by rianjs » Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:25 pm

My SO and I are looking at buying a house. We are paying about $2100 in rent right now. That's about what we'd like to pay if we were to buy a house. $2100 including mortgage, various insurances, and local property taxes, NOT $2100 for mortgage alone. That means a mortgage principal of about $350K. It so happens that the max amount we'd like to pay for a house is about $350K, and we could probably do anywhere from a $10K-30K downpayment, so more realistically, we would be financing about $325K.

My SO is a schoolteacher. I am a software engineer. Our combined income is about $150K.

She has great credit, with about $10K left on her one student loan. I have [lousy --admin LadyGeek] credit, with about $60K left to pay on my student loans. (I was unemployed for a while post-graduation, and defaulted on my student loans. Argh.) I'm back on track with respect to payments, and AFAIK, I have no other debts outstanding that haven't been resolved. (I settled some consumer debt I had accumulated while unemployed.)

I have optimized squaring away my debt to retire as much debt as quickly as possible--settling at lower numbers vs complete repayment--as opposed to worrying about my credit score. I would do the same thing all over again if I had to.

The numbers:
  • My FICO: 560 as of Jan 2013 (up from 493 in July 2011; if anything, it'd be higher now)
  • Her FICO: 774 as of Jan 2013 (if anything, it'd be higher now)
  • My income: Call it $100K
  • Her income: about $52K
  • Her debt-to-income: 3%
  • My debt-to-income: 24.15%
  • Combined debt-to-income: 14.86%
We have talked to a broker at the credit union I'm a member of, and: