Get 5% back on credit card purchases.

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
tc101

Get 5% back on credit card purchases.

Post by tc101 »

Here is a round about way to get 5% back on credit card purchases. It might be more trouble than it is worth

http://creditcardforum.com/rewards/1116 ... ipoff.html
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
momar

Re: Get 5% back on credit card purchases.

Post by momar »

Might as well use Blue Cash Preferred and buy gift cards at the grocery store. 6%.
"Index funds have a place in your portfolio, but you'll never beat the index with them." - Words of wisdom from a Fidelity rep
Sunny Sarkar

Post by Sunny Sarkar »

First I pay them, then I make an end run around their rules to get some of it back, then I congratulate myself. :oops:

This is such a twisted game they're forcing us to play. If they can give us 5% back, why can't they charge the merchant 5% less so that the prices can go down?
"Buy-and-hold, long-term, all-market-index strategies, implemented at rock-bottom cost, are the surest of all routes to the accumulation of wealth" - John C. Bogle
Topic Author
tc101

Post by tc101 »

Might as well use Blue Cash Preferred and buy gift cards at the grocery store. 6%.
Well one positive thing came out of this thread, which is that I learned about the Blue Cash Preferred AmEx card. I didn't know you could get 3% cash back on gas. I just upgraded my old 1% AmEx. I hope I didn't overlook anything like a monthly fee.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
momar

Post by momar »

tc101 wrote:
Well one positive thing came out of this thread, which is that I learned about the Blue Cash Preferred AmEx card. I didn't know you could get 3% cash back on gas. I just upgraded my old 1% AmEx. I hope I didn't overlook anything like a monthly fee.